Shop

Find us on Facebook

Teddies Reviewed

Teddy bear expert Ken Yenke identifies and appraises old bears.



Teddies Reviewed: February 2009 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Ken Yenke   
Sunday, 01 February 2009 00:00

Gund, 1930-1940My mom has this teddy and would like to know its value. She keeps it in like-new condition and nothing is broken on it. Thanks for your knowledge. —Judy Smith, Olmsted Falls, Ohio

Judy, your mom has a bear on all fours made by Gund around 1930-1940. Near mint, it is valued around $500.

 
Teddies Reviewed: December 2008 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Ken Yenke   
Monday, 01 December 2008 00:00

Steiff lion and lioness, both dating from around 1950My husband bought a lion and tiger at an auction a few years ago. They are each about 2 feet long and in perfect condition. He paid a total of $25 for the pair, and we enjoy them on our living room sofa. Can you tell me more about them and their value? —Pat Bonham, Bay Village, Ohio

 
Teddies Reviewed: October 2008 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Ken Yenke   
Wednesday, 01 October 2008 00:00

17-inch Austrian bearI enjoy reading Teddy Bear Review, especially your column. Would you tell me more about the teddy bear I recently acquired, which has a green badge on its chest that reads “BERG”? —Jim Van Lieu, Hamilton, Ohio

Jim, your 17-inch teddy hails from Austria. BERG is one of the premium makers from there, especially in the 1950s and ’60s. Your bear resembles Steiff, and the company’s quality was quite good. Your teddy, in great condition, is valued in the $300 range today.

 
Teddies Reviewed: August 2008 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Ken Yenke   
Friday, 01 August 2008 00:00

Teddy bear made no later than 1908This bear belonged to an 87-year-old. It is 16 inches long and we date it from 1909 to 1921. Could you shed some light on who might have made the bear and its value today? The eyes are black shoe buttons if that helps you. —Lois and Bob Kathan, Onalaska, Wis.

 
Teddies Reviewed: June 2008 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Ken Yenke   
Sunday, 01 June 2008 00:00

German-made teddy bear dating to around 1907–1908First, let me tell you how invaluable TBR magazine and your books are for my reference. I have two bears that look very similar, but I know they are different makers. Can you help identify them for me? —Lynn Capizzo, Harrison Township, Mich.

 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 3